The Oak Center General Store
67011 Highway 63
Lake City, MN 55041

(507) 753-2080

folkforum@riverland.org

 

OUR STORE  OUR FARM  OUR STORE  LIVE MUSIC  FOLK FORUM  NEWSLETTERS 

LIVE MUSIC AT OAK CENTER

Our concert schedule runs from October through April and we pride ourselves in offering the best live music you can find in southeastern MN. The acoustics in our 100-year-old community hall are top notch, and the atmosphere leads to some great discussions and social time.

While you are here, you can enjoy organic popcorn, home-baked cookies, natural sodas, waters, coffee & beer. Before concerts and during intermission, you can shop in the Oak Center General Store to stock up on organic foods or the many other interesting and useful treasures you may find.

Please read ticket purchasing instructions at the end of this page. Save us from running to the phone!!!

 

CONCERT SCHEDULE

We are at the Rochester Downtown Farmers' Market on Saturdays from the 1st weekend in May until the end of October. This prevents us from doing shows during the summer or on Fridays in October.

Please read ticket purchasing info at the bottom of this page...THANKS!!!!

i

in need of some

volunteers...

We can always use help cleaning, gettin' the place lookin' nice, and doing firewood, cooking, maintenance, hanging posters, etc.! call 753-2080 or e-mail to arrange a time!!
     
October 2016    
Saturday Oct. 1st OPEN  
Saturday Oct. 8th at 8PM The Fattenin’ Frogs http://thefatteninfrogs.com/
Saturday Oct. 15th at 8PM Bruce Bowers and Ric Gillman http://www.ricgillman.com/
http://tbrucebowers.com/
Saturday Oct. 22nd at 8PM Pop Wagner and the Hampden Rounders http://www.popwagner.com/Pop_Wagners_Web_Site/Home.html
Saturday Oct. 29th at 8PM The High 48’s http://thehigh48s.com/
November 2016    
Saturday Nov. 5th at 8PM Barbara Jean and Molly Dean – Dusty Heart

http://www.dustyheartmusic.com/

Saturday Nov. 12th at 8PM Chuck Suchy http://www.chucksuchy.com/
Saturday Nov. 19th at 8PM Erik Koskinen and friends http://www.erikkoskinen.com/
Saturday Nov. 26th at 8PM Jillian Rae and band https://www.facebook.com/jraemusic/
December 2016    
Saturday Dec.3rd at 8PM Radoslav Lorkovic and T. Bruce Bowers https://www.radoslavlorkovic.com/
http://tbrucebowers.com/
Saturday Dec. 10th at 8PM Mother Banjo http://www.motherbanjo.com/
Saturday Dec. 17th at 8PM Charlie Parr http://www.charlieparr.com/
     
January 2017    
     
  RR  
Saturday Jan. 21st at 8PM The Pines http://thepinesmusic.com/
Saturday Jan. 28th at 8PM Reina del Cid http://reinadelcid.com/
February 2017    
Saturday Feb. 4th at 8 PM Root River Jam with Miles Johnston http://milesjohnston.com/
Saturday Feb. 11th at 8PM Radoslav Lorkovic with Barbara Jean- a Valentine show! https://www.radoslavlorkovic.com/
http://www.barbarajeanmusic.com/
Saturday Feb. 18th at *PM Monroe Crossing http://www.monroecrossing.com/
     
Sunday Feb. 26th at 3PM Bill Staines http://www.acousticmusic.com/staines/
March 2017    
Saturday March 4th at 8PM Hurricane Harold, Jeff Ray and the Stakes Jeff Ray and Hurricane Harold
Saturday March 11th at 8PM Chris Silver and the Good Intentions http://chrissilver.wix.com/thegoodintentions
Saturday March 18th Pistol Whippin’ Party Penguins http://pwppmusic.com/
Saturday March 25th at 8PM Dan Newton - Daddy Squeeze and Café’ Accordion http://www.cafeaccordion.com/
April 2017    
Saturday April 1st Katey Bellville http://www.kateybellville.com/
Saturday April 8th at 8PM The Barley Jacks http://www.barleyjacks.com/
Friday thru Sunday April 14-16 Easter Weekend –no shows  
Saturday April 22nd at 8PM Peter Ostroushko and Dean Magraw http://www.peterostroushko.com/
http://deanmagraw.com/
Saturday April 29th at *PM Joe and Vicki Price http://www.joepriceblue.com/
May - Oct ... Farmer's Market in Rochester every Saturday...see you there!   http://www.rochesterdowntownfarmersmarket.org/

TICKET SALES

Tickets are sold in advance in the store or through the mail. They are reasonably priced at $15 per seat with an option for low income. Contact us if you are low income to discuss your situation. We want our shows to be affordable for everyone. For shows that are sold out, we cannot sell blocks of seats at lower cost without an explanation and discussion. Please show consideration of others who also would like those seats and those who volunteer their time and/or pay the bills here at folk forum to keep these programs going. We trust you will be fair and not try to take advantage of our generosity. We take cash and checks or time volunteering.

The generosity of all makes each and every concert possible. To purchase through the mail, (our preferred method), please make your check out to folk forum, write the number of tickets you would like, and which concert you would like to attend on the memo portion of the check. Please include your phone # or e-mail address in case we need to contact you. Mail to: folk forum c/o the Oak Center General Store, 67011 Hwy 63, Lake City, MN. You will be entered in our guest ledger and will only need to give your name at the front counter. Purchasing tickets in advance thru the mail is easy, really helps us plan for a concert by letting us know how many guests we will have, and greatly reduces lines and time at the front counter. If you are for some reason unable to make it, and we are notified early enough that we can resell your tickets, you may transfer your tickets to another show or stop in to pick up a refund.

Reservations will be taken only if there is still room 2 days before a concert. Taking reservations is more difficult for us and it can be challenging/frustrating running back and forth to the phone when there is so much else to do here. Please make all efforts to get your check in early. If, in the event that we are accepting reservations, they can be done by e-mailing folkforum@riverland.org, (preferred), or by phone. Please make reservations only if you are certain you are coming and will call in the event you are not able to make it. Reservations will be held until 20 minutes prior to a sold out show when they will become available to other patrons.

We take great pride in keeping our overhead low so we can compensate the performers as much as possible, keep our concerts affordable. and continue hosting these events.

Thank you for your support!